Here Comes the Sun

There’s something brilliant that happens to British people when the sun comes out.

They get all happy and friendly.

I’ve lived in a few countries and there is not one country in the world that can beat Britain when the sun’s shining.

It’s a phenomenon that only happens here. And I love everyone for it.

In New York, when the weather gets hot, the murder rates rise.

In Finland when the sun comes out, people get drunk, fall off boats and die.

In other hot places people get bitten by insects and get terrible diseases.

But here, we start being a little bit nicer to each other.

There’s a simple explanation for this.

We put up with so much, weather-wise,

  • fifty different types of pouring/drizzly rain

  • Driving winds

  • grey, dark gloomy skies,

  • hailstones

  • the odd bit of snow.

Sometimes all in one day.

 

We put up with it because we know,

that there will be a day,

Sometimes, just one single day of the year,

when it’s that perfect mixture of warm (not hot) and sunny.

(It’s important that it stays between 23-26 C, any colder and someone will ruin the mood by wearing a coat. Any hotter and everyone starts moaning about how it’s too hot.)

On that day, everything is right with the world and no-one wants to spoil it!

Today is such a day here in Salford and it is even more special, because it was a little unexpected, we’d already had our quota of sun, hadn’t we?

Those three consecutive days of sunshine and yet, here it is again.

I took Missy out to the park.

I smiled at everyone and everyone smiled back.

People stopped to give Missy a stroke and had a little chat.

Four people said hello as they passed by.

A grumpy dog walker who normally ignores me, gave me a jaunty wave.

In Salford precinct, someone actually stepped aside to let me pass, instead of barging me out of their way, that NEVER happens…

But it happened today, because the sun’s out.

I stopped off to buy some eggs, I exchanged pleasantries with a woman by the trolleys, another near the bakery, a guy by the salad stuff – which was rammed by the way, everyone seems to be having salad tonight! Another by-product of a sunny day! 🙂 – and I had a long conversation with a lady at the till.

I spoke to more people today, than I had throughout the whole of February.

What I’m saying is, British people know how to appreciate the sun.

If we had sun all year round, we’d have nothing to look forward to, so we’d probably spend all our time going to bed early, pretending we enjoyed drinking wheatgrass (or Kale or whatever the newest fad is) and putting fruit in savoury dishes where it doesn’t belong

(seriously Californian people, if I wanted bits of orange in my rice…
what am I saying? I’ll never want bits of orange in my bloody rice!)

AND

We wouldn’t even notice that the sun is shining.

So

on the next sunny day, be sure to congratulate every person you see with a smile, greet every happy person with a jaunty wave or a happy hello, because if it were a different country, they’d either be trying to kill you or falling into a river.

🙂

BTW

This doesn’t mean that we don’t get annoyed when the sun’s out, I just think we’re a bit more reluctant to spoil the mood

For example

I was in Unicorn  today, it’s an organic grocery and workers’ co-operative (for those of you who couldn’t be bothered to click the link J) a bit like Whole Foods (for my American readers)

I know it’s remarkably middle class, but seriously, it’s the only place I can get the incredible Canadian Flour and they do an amazing Falafel mix. I treated myself to a rice mix (brown, wild and red rice) as well.

And yes, I do realise just how bourgeois I’m sounding right now…

Moving on…

Anyway, I was in the queue and I was astonished by the woman behind me. I would have thought that someone who buys from Unicorn has a certain way of thinking, it’s all about the saving the planet, re-using plastic bags etc. So I was astonished to see this:

IMG_3597

She had, it seemed, individual items in individual paper bags.

Why would you need to put a single pepper in a paper bag?

Does she not realise that it also takes energy to produce paper bags?

Is she missing the point or am I wrong here?
Answers in the comments please

Normally, I’d have made a snarky comment, but did I say anything to this environmentally oblivious woman?

Nope, I turned to her and said with a smile, the summer small talk stock phrase

Warm, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

